Southern African Development Community

SADC Water Sector Co-ordinating Unit

This page includes details of the activities of the Water Sector Co-ordinating Unit, documents etc. The action plan includes details of the following programs

  • ZACPLAN (Zambezi Action Plan)

  • HYCOS (Hydrological Cycle Observing System)

  • Round Table Conference

  • Groundwater Programme

  • Regional Strategic Action Plan

SADC Shared Watercourse Systems Protocol

As of 5 July 2001, the SADC countries that have ratified the Protocol on Shared Water Course Systems (old protocol) are : Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Revised protocol on shared water courses signed by thirteen SADC member states in Namibia last year has been ratified by two member states namely Botswana and Namibia.

SADC Links