The Nile Basin Initiative | The Water Page

Over a period of several years the ten countries of the Nile have come together within the Nile Basin Initiative to develop and implement program in terms of a shared vision which they have agreed to. The shared vision is “to achieve sustainable socio-economic development through the equitable utilization of, and benefit from, the common Nile Basin water resources.â€The countries of the Nile Basin are:BurundiDemocratic Rep of CongoEgyptEritreaEthiopiaKenyaRwandaSudanTanzaniaUgandaProjects and programsThe Nile Basin Initiative Strategic Action Program contains two main types of projects – Those to be planned and undertaken at Basin level with all the riparian countries involved called the “Shared Vision Program” (SVP), and those to be undertaken between two or more countries at subsidiary level, called “Subsidiary Action Programs” (SAP). There are two SAP programs – the Nile Equatorial Lakes program (NELSAP) involving Burundi, Democratic Rep of Congo, Egypt, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, and the Eastern Nile program (ENSAP) involving Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Sudan.The objective of the Shared Vision Program is to build confidence and capacity across the Basin, whereas the Subsidiary Action Programs are designed to initiate concrete investments and action on the ground at local levels. The full project portfolio of Shared Vision Projects include:Nile Transboundary Environmental ActionNile Basin Regional Power TradeEfficient Water Use for Agricultural ProductionWater Resources Planning and ManagementConfidence-Building and Stakeholder Involvement (Communication)Applied TrainingSocio-Economic Development and Benefit-SharingLinks